Labalbal – Pumpkin and Mango in Coconut Milk

On October 24, I cooked at Labalbal Cafe in Białystok. I’m very happy with the results and several of the patrons asked for the recipe, so here it is.

I’m sorry for my lack of pictures. I forgot to take some.

I cooked a modification of this recipe from Mouthwatering Vegan. My version is below. I also baked some vegan chocolate chip cookies. I will post that recipe in the near future.

Pumpkin and Mango in Coconut Milk

For this recipe, it is very important that the mango is very ripe as it adds most of the sweetness. Also, I buy coconut milk with no additives, and I’ve noticed it behaves differently than the “regular” coconut milk – it is definitely a lot thicker. Plus, I like to keep it in the fridge so it gets creamy.
Ingredients
1 medium zucchini
about 2 kg pumpkin
canola oil (or your favorite oil for frying)
salt
1 tsp. coriander powder
1 tsp. ground cardamon
1 tsp. cumin powder
3/4 tsp. cinnamon powder
3/4 tsp. turmeric powder
1 tsp. curry powder (hot or mild – your choice)
1 large onion
5 cloves garlic
6-7 cm (about 3 in.) fresh ginger
2 cups coconut milk
juice of 1 lemon
1 tbsp. carob molasses
 
Tools
hand blender

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C (390°F). Cut up pumpkin and zucchini, place on baking sheet, drizzle with a bit of oil, sprinkle some salt and curry (or paprika). Bake for about 30 minutes until soft on the inside.
  2. In a large pot, heat up some oil (about 2 tbsp.). Add the spices and grated ginger. Heat for a minute and add the diced onion. Wait for the onion to release its juices and add the garlic.
  3. Add 1 cup of coconut milk and cook for 2-3 min. Then add the other cup and allow to simmer for 10 min. Switch off the heat.
  4. Add carob molasses and the juice of one lemon. Blend.
  5. Heat the pot again, add cut up pieces of mango (I always use fresh ones – diced) and the hot veggies. Stir slightly.

Serve with rice and garnish with nuts.

Number of servings: 5-7

 
Share your thoughts and comments.

