Halloween – Black olive and tofu dip

This year  I decided to go all out for Halloween. I spent well over a week preparing all the decorations, which included spider webs, spiders, bats, various things painted black, a cauliflower brain, etc.

This past weekend, we threw a family Halloween party, complete with face painting, eerie music, and gory treats. Guests were welcomed to try things like bat blood with crushed bones (spiced rooibos tea), mice feet (raw red cabbage and apple salad), frog livers fried with onion (black bean dip), brain cortex puree (black olives and tofu dip), and chocolate muffins with flies.

The brain cortex puree was a complete invention of my own. When I started to plan the menu, I decided to serve only black food, so black olives seemed to be an obvious choice. I don’t really know how I decided on the ingredients, but I instinctively knew this would work. The result was amazing and so I’m sharing the recipe with you here.

This is so simple, yet so tasty. It can be served many different ways.

Black olives and tofu dip

Ingredients
approx. 1½ – 2 cups black olives
150g (5 oz.) firm tofu
garlic (to taste – I used a whole head)
juice of 1 lemon
 
Tools
hand blender or blender

Instructions

Drain olives and wash. Put in bowl and blend. Add tofu (crumble or dice it), garlic, and lemon juice. Blend. Let it stand for a while (about 30 min.) in the fridge.

Serve with tortilla chips, on pita bread or with veggies.

Share your thoughts and comments.

