Quick and Easy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have been making the chocolate chip cookie recipe found here for several years now. And that is the exact recipe I followed for the cookies I made at Labalbal Café when I cooked there Oct. 23. This is such an easy and quick recipe, and every time I make it everyone loves it.

I haven’t been making this recipe because we don’t use sugar in our household, but recently, I decided to try and reduce the sugar and oil, and the result was even more fantastic. I now think that it’s possible to substitute the sugar with carob molasses and it’d work. I’ll have to try that to see what amount of the carob molasses is sufficient and I’ll post the results in the future. If any of you try to make this, I’d love hear about your results.

Below is my modified recipe based on the one from VegWeb.

Quick note about flour: I have made these with success using different flours (even whole rye) and even combinations of flours, so use your favorite or try something new. Any type of pastry flour will work as will oat flour.

Ingredients
2 cups flour
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
2 tsp. cinnamon (or to taste)
1 tsp. ground cardamom
⅓ tsp. coriander powder
about a cup vegan chocolate chips
nuts (optional)*
½ cup vegan sugar
¼ cup oil
¾ cup water

 Instructions

MAKE SURE ALL INGREDIENTS ARE AT ROOM TEMPERATURE.

  1. Preheat oven to 175°C (350°F).
  2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, salt and spices. Add the chocolate chips and nuts. Make a well in the center and set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix the sugar and oil. Mix well. Add the water. Mix it well. I usually let it stand for a bit so all the sugar dissolves and then mix it some more.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the well in the large bowl (dry ingredients). Mix well.
  5. Spoon onto cookie sheets. Bake for about 15-20 min.

Number of servings: about a dozen cookies

* I made the cookies pictured above with some hazelnuts and cashews.
Share your thoughts and comments.

