carob muffins with cranberry surprise

I know I have been terrible about posting. My excuse is that tomorrow I’m flying to visit my mom in Chicago, and I’ve been extremely busy making stuff because I decided I should make instead of buy. I crazily decided to sew my own carry-on bag/purse – it’s great but took forever and took up all my free time, which meant no blogging last week.

I hope to be adding some recipes throughout my visit in Chicago. I have some posts already planned, so I will not be leaving you for long.

Last Monday I posted a cranberry jelly recipe, and today I will show you one way I use it. Actually, I came up with the cranberry jelly especially for these muffins, but have since also tried it in various other recipes.

I use oat flour for this recipe because it is the best type of flour from the ones my son can eat for this type of muffin. Feel free to use your favorite.

Ingredients
3 cups oat flour
½ cup ground flax seed
1 cup carob powder
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cardamom powder
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
3 ripe bananas
1 med. apple                     = the apple and bananas should be about 1 ½ cups (12 fl. oz.)
3-5 tbsp. carob molasses
⅓ cup oil
1 ½ tbsp. apple vinegar
2 cups water

 

About  1 cup cranberry jelly
 

Instructions

  1. Mix the oat flour, ground flax seeds, carob powder, baking powder and spices in a bowl and make a well in the middle.
  2. Using a hand blender (my favorite tool in the kitchen), blend the bananas and the apple in a separate bowl. Mix in carob molasses, oil, apple vinegar and water.  Add to the dry ingredients.
  3. Mix all the ingredients well until there are no lumps. (I use a hand blender.)
  4. Preheat oven to 175°C (350°F).
  5. Place muffin papers in tin.
  6. Spoon about half the batter and add a small amount of cranberry jelly (about a teaspoon).
  7. Add the rest of the batter. (leave some room so it can rise)
  8. Place in oven and bake for about 30-40 minutes checking it with a toothpick. When toothpick comes out clean, turn off oven and leave muffins to cool.

Note: I use the carob molasses to make the “frosting”. I just heat up about half a cup of the molasses and then spoon onto the muffins when they are still fairly warm.

Number of servings: about 15 muffins

3 thoughts on “carob muffins with cranberry surprise

  1. Pingback: Still looking for ideas for Mother’s Day brunch? | Broccoli Addict

Share your thoughts and comments.

