Plans for the new year

I don’t remember when I stopped making resolutions, but at some point in my life I realized that all they’re good for is being broken, therefore I make plans for the coming year. It may be a trivial, but at the same time huge difference.

So, here are my plans for 2012:

  1. learn to bake breads and rolls. I’ve already started making some easier recipes like Rye Irish Soda bread and breads on yeast. This week I am working on my active sourdough starter and hopefully I will have made my first whole rye sourdough by the weekend (Monday on the latest). Once I’ve mastered at least a recipe, I will share my results.
  2. decorate the apartment. We bought the apartment we currently live in in July 2010, but only moved in April 2011. I’ve been slowly making headway in the decoration department, but it will probably take all this year or possibly longer to attain the desired results. Some projects that require immediate attention are:
  • the mural near the entrance (that I’ve been working on since March – see photos below)
  • cardboard deer trophy (I already have some modifications in mind)
  • diaper box revamp (for storing hats, scarves, etc. in the entryway wardrobe)

Some pictures of the mural in progress:

  1. take small steps every day to be healthier (physically and mentally). This means getting on that stationary bike even if I don’t feel like it, going for a walk with the dog and finding joy in the seemingly mundane (but beautiful).
  2. focus on my art more. For the last 5 years, I have been curating, promoting and organizing events to support other people’s art making. This year, it is time for me, so I will selfishly focus on my art. I applied for an artist scholarship from the city, but yesterday I found out I didn’t get it. No surprise there as I have no “friends” in the local government. I have decided to work on the project anyway – it’s a collage series on women (with feminist leanings).
  3. sell on etsy. I’ve thought about this since etsy began some 6 or 7 years ago, but I think I’ve finally matured to the idea.

Well, that is all – only 5. Many of these are not as easy as they first appear and most require me to break out of my comfortable routine – I look forward to the challenge.

What are your plans for 2012?

Share your thoughts and comments.

