To a healthier new you…

January is almost over, and many of us have vowed to work out more, to lose some weight, to be healthier… That list could probably go on.

Some time ago, I decided to stop making resolutions or expecting great changes from myself within ridiculous time frames. Now, I focus on small changes every day – choosing that apple over the delicious but less healthy vegan muffin. And I don’t allow my inner judge to put me down when I choose the muffin over the apple; I know I will choose the apple the next time.

There was a time in my teens that I was a size zero, and my biggest nightmare was gaining weight. I weighed myself every day. Being told I was too thin gave me a strange satisfaction that I just do not understand now. I didn’t starve myself though, and naturally I started to develop more womanly shapes.

I spent most of my twenties as a size six. And despite the fact that I was fit and healthy, I believed I was fat. Sometimes, I would cancel on plans with friends at the last minute because nothing fit right. I believed that if I only worked out hard enough I would be perfect, and sometimes I’d spend two hours working out intensely until I could no longer keep going.

Now, I think I have a much healthier approach to things. First of all, being vegan takes care of certain aspects, but I do realize that working out is essential if I am to live to ninety-six. My goal for this year has been to get a regular workout routine. I no longer want to get rid of my curves, breasts or any attributes that make me a beautiful woman. I just want to be able to run around with my grandchildren or dogs when I’m eighty (and older).

I think having a baby changes you in many ways, and it does different things to different women. Having Alex helped me cope with my body insecurities. My body helped a little being grow, it supported life for nine months, and fed this beautiful little boy for two years. I feel that I owe it to myself to love my body and what it is capable of. I now work out not because I want to lose weight, but because I want to do something good for my body.

I want to treat my body right.

So if you’re keeping your vow to be healthier/work out more, pat yourself on the back and get yourself a massage. If you’re not, go easy on yourself. Sometimes our motivation just needs a bit of perspective.

One thought on “To a healthier new you…

  1. Good luck with everything, Ula: as long as you set the standard high, you are right on track with your health goals. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

    Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

