My easy vegan every day vegetable curry

There are few recipes that I repeat often, I really like to change things up – even if just a little bit – but this vegetable curry is an exception. I make this several times a month, and I often crave it. It’s just the perfect dish for me, taste-wise as well as in its ease of preparation. If I could afford it (coconut milk is expensive in Poland), I’d probably make this dish several times a week. Although, I don’t know how my family would feel about that.

Once, Alex woke up one evening and saw I was eating some vegetable curry. He told me he was hungry as well, and proceeded to eat the entire bowl. After which, he went straight to bed saying his tummy said thank you. This is just proof of how delicious this dish is – or at least that my son has my taste buds.

If you don’t have all the ingredients, no worries, any veggies you have can be thrown in. The main taste is created by the spices and the coconut milk. Make sure to use good quality coconut milk; the ingredient list should not contain additives, preservatives, etc. I use TerraSana brand organic coconut milk. The quality of the milk really makes a difference in the consistency and taste.

Note: This time of year, I use frozen veggies as they are more available, cheaper, and healthier (local, frozen at the height of season).

Ingredients
1 tbsp. canola oil
2 onions
4 cloves of garlic
5 cm (approx. 2 in.) piece of fresh ginger
1½ tsp. cumin
1 tsp. coriander
½ – 1 tsp. turmeric
¼ tsp. cayenne pepper 
[instead of these spices, you can throw in your favorite curry spices or curry paste]
1 can of coconut milk
1 liter (4¼ cup) water (or vegetable broth)
2-3 med potatoes
1-2 carrots
about 1 cup frozen peas (can be fresh – do not use canned)
150 g green beans (fresh or frozen)
300 g cauliflower (fresh or frozen) 
300 g broccoli (fresh or frozen)

Instructions

  1. Dice the onions and sauté (for a lower fat version, you can skip the oil and use vegetable broth or water). Add minced garlic, grated ginger and spices. Add a bit of water and let simmer for a few minutes.
  2. Add the coconut milk.
  3. Dice the potatoes and carrots and add to the pot. Add more water if necessary (should be just enough liquid to cover the vegetables). Let cook for about 10 minutes.
  4. Add the peas, green beans, cauliflower and the rest of the water. Once the potatoes, carrots and peas are done, add the broccoli. Keep cooking on med/low heat until all vegetables are done.

Serve over rice.

Serving size: about 8

Share your thoughts and comments.

