Calming Lavender Bath Bombs

I love to make things myself. If I have an option between making something and buying it, then I always prefer to make it. Of course, time is often an issue – I’d like to make more things than I have time for; but in my quest to be my most healthy best self, I believe making my own beauty products is just a sound investment. I can control the quality of the ingredients and what it is that I am putting on my body. That is why I decided to share some of the recipes I’ve discovered and developed.

These bath bombs are so simple and satisfying to make. Lavender is used in aromatherapy to help relax and fall asleep, it is also an antiseptic so it is good for dry skin, eczema, skin infections and even fungal infections. Almond oil contains unsaturated fatty acids and vitamins A, B1, B2, B6 and D. It is good for dry, itchy skin, eczema and psoriasis. You can always switch out the almond oil to your favorite such as coconut or jojoba.

I don’t have bath bomb molds, so I just used tin cookie cutters, which worked great. My only advice is not to use ones with points like stars because it is hard to get them out nicely. My flower and heart shapes seemed to work best.

bath bombs

Ingredients

3 tablespoons baking soda
1 tablespoon citric acid
Handful dried lavender buds (about 1-2 tablespoons)
10 drops lavender essential oil
1 teaspoon almond oil

 

Instructions

  1. Mix all ingredients together.
  2. Put into a mold (I used tin cookie cutters). Push in and let sit for about one hour.
  3. Gently press the shapes out of the mold and your bath bombs are ready to use.

 

Variations:

Instead of the lavender buds and essential oil, you could use dried rosemary with peppermint essential oil or dried rose petals with damask rose or geranium essential oil. Rosemary is good to use in the bath for muscle aches, rheumatism pains and circulation problems. Peppermint essential oil is particularly good for when you feel exhausted. Rose is good for treating depression, sleeplessness, stress and anxiety, PMS pains, headaches, and high blood pressure

 

More beauty product recipes to come…

Share your thoughts and comments.

