Cream of cauliflower and roasted red pepper soup

Soups are a must in our house. If nothing else, there must be soup. Once in a while, there are exceptions to this rule, but very very rarely. In the summer I make plenty of raw soups when it’s hot. But I have to say, there is nothing like a warm soup on a wintery spring day or full on winter night.

I rarely post soup recipes here, because most of them are improvisations. Soups and salads are my specialties – I very infrequently get them wrong. The problem is that when I cook, I get in the zone – a dash of this, a dab of that, oh there’s this piece of something (usually some vegetable) that I’d been meaning to do something with, let’s throw it in. I feel some instant surge of inspiration and suddenly I know what herbs and/or spices to add and in which proportions. But when I’m done, it’s sometimes difficult to trace my footsteps and write down what I did. Plus, what are the chances of having those ingredients in the house at the same time? Is anyone feeling me on this?

Well, this recipe is the exception. It is simple and came out so divine, I knew I had to share it, so I wrote it down immediately. And boy am I glad I did! I made this again this Saturday, and it is just heaven in its simplicity yet richness at the same time. I love being inspired.

cauliflower soup

Ingredients
½ cup dry red lentils
1 cauliflower
1 red bell pepper
3-4 carrots
1 tsp. fenugreek seeds
1 bay leaf
2 pieces allspice
½ tsp. ground cumin
¼ tsp. cayenne pepper powder
1 tsp. sweet pepper powder
Salt and pepper, to taste
3 cups vegetable broth or water (I used water)

Instructions

  1. Wash red bell pepper and bake at 200°C (395°) for about 20 minutes, until the skin browns. When baked, peel and chop.
  2. In a pot, add red lentils, cauliflower, carrots, fenugreek seeds, bay leaf, allspice, cumin, cayenne and sweet pepper. Pour in water or broth (water level should be about 2 cm below the vegetables). Bring to a simmer, cover, and cook until vegetables are tender.
  3. Add baked red bell pepper, salt and pepper. When done remove from heat. Let cool for a bit. Blend with an immersion blender. Serve.

Tastes really yummy sprinkled with a bit of sesame salt or nutritional yeast.

Share your thoughts and comments.

