Coconut banana pancakes

I hate when I take long breaks from this blog, but life has gotten in the way. I have loads of recipes lined up, but I still write them up on a weekly basis. I apologize for my absence. I have a feeling summer may look a bit spotty as far as regularity goes, so be prepared.
Anyway, my life has been consumed for the last 2 months by a huge festival I’m helping to organize. It’s crazy what we’ve taken on, but also very exciting. For those of you who speak/read Polish, go to our website: www.festiwalznatury.pl. The main premise behind the festival is to live as naturally, socially and environmentally responsible as possible. There will be workshops and lectures about natural living, healthy lifestyle and eating, recycling, babywearing and so on. There will be loads of attractions like making fresh squeezed nettle juice, cold-pressed oils, grinding flour, etc. I will be teaching two workshops: one for children – making yarn mandalas; and one for adults (and children) about making healthy vegan snacks that take into account allergies and have nothing processed and no sugar. I’ll share some of those recipes in the future.

banana coconut pancakes 1

For now, another breakfast or brunch recipe. This can be completely oil free, just use a non-stick frying pan. This is such an easy and quick recipe that utilizes those ripe bananas – don’t you just love them as a sweetener? I make my own oat flour from oat flakes in a coffee grinder. This recipe can be gluten-free if you use GF oat flour.

banana coconut pancakes 2

Ingredients
3 ripe bananas
½ cup oat flour (use GF if needed)
4 tbsp. ground flaxseed
½ tsp. ground cardamom
1/3 tsp. freshly ground nutmeg
¼ cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1 tbsp. oil (optional)
2 tbsp. water
½ tsp. aluminum-free baking soda
oil for frying

Instructions

  1. In a bowl, mash up bananas with a fork.
  2. Add in rest of the ingredients. Mix well, but don’t overdo it.
  3. Heat frying pan. Drop in batter with a spoon.

Serve sprinkled with coconut flakes, fresh fruit and/or molasses.

Makes: 10 pancakes

2 thoughts on “Coconut banana pancakes

Share your thoughts and comments.

