Ch-ch-ch-changes

Besides death and taxes, one things that’s certain is change. And boy have things changed in my life over the last two years. My baby boy is already five years old. Can you believe it? I sure can’t. Over the last two years, I have been making incremental changes in my habits, which has added up to some big changes compounded over time, such as:

• I lost over 10 lbs. without any effort.
• I’ve developed a regular writing habit and am working, rewriting and editing a second draft of my novel. It’s not a cookbook, but the main character is a vegan.
• I’m just feeling better in general. I find joy (and sometimes ecstasy) in the everyday things. I feel healthier mentally and physically.

photo by J. Wojnar

photo by J. Wojnar

I’ve been at a crossroads about this blog. At first I just got busy, then lazy, and then afraid that if I start posting again it’ll be irregular and no one will read anyway. The truth is I find it hard to post regularly with the requirements I’ve set for myself. My original goal for this blog was simple: to write. It quickly developed into regular cooking posts, which I enjoyed, but developing recipes, cooking them (several times to get it right), taking pictures in the right conditions with my shitty camera, and posting regularly just became too much. Sorry. I’m just not cut out to be a recipe blogger. I love it. I love vegan food. I love to cook. I love to make up my own recipes. I’m just not that good at writing regularly about it.
In May 2014, I began cooking at a new gluten-free vegan restaurant – the first and only one in this town in northeastern Poland. It’s a part-time side gig where I’m getting my cooking and recipe-developing needs met . Once in a while if I come up with something exciting, I’ll post here. But do not expect there to be any great regularity or frequency in those types of posts.

So what should you expect my dear readers?

I could go on now for several hundred words about my plan for this blog, but to tell you honestly I don’t have one. And that’s kind of exciting. I want to write here with some regularity. Veganism is very important to me. So is food. But there are also so many other aspects to myself. Therefore I ask dear readers to just come along with me for the ride and we’ll see where this beautiful road takes us. Because as you may remember from Alice in Wonderland, if you don’t know where you’re going it doesn’t matter which road you take.

“–so long as I get SOMEWHERE,” Alice added as an explanation.
“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only walk long enough.”

I will write about things that interests me or things I have read. Hopefully, this will also interest others. The only way I can know that is if you comment, so please do that liberally. And if you miss my recipe posts, please let me know, maybe then I’ll be motivated to be more regular with those. I promise you one thing, this will not be an aimless meander through my brain and thoughts. Or maybe it will. Who knows?! I do plan on having a direction in which I will take this little blog, but that will possibly remain a mystery for some time.

Here’s to determination! I leave you with George Harrison’s “Any Road”:

 

Share your thoughts and comments.

