A changing perspective

Photo source: littlevisuals.co

Photo source: littlevisuals.co

 

I recently watched an interesting documentary from PBS Nature titled Violent Hawaii. Try to see it if possible, you won’t regret it. You’ll see the islands from a completely different perspective. This beautiful place that most, if not all, of us see as a paradise has been shaped by brutal and unforgiving forces of nature. That made me really think. This island has endured volcanoes, mudslides, huge waves, tsunamis. These forces have shaped Hawaii, this amazingly gorgeous place. What if we thought of our hardships the same way? Would that give us a better perspective? Would we whine less about our bad luck or unfortunate circumstances? I don’t know, but I want to try. Instead of feeling sorry for myself, I am going to think that all that I am experiencing, even the bad, is shaping and polishing me to be an awesome beautiful being. Instead of judging what is happening I will just accept it. This doesn’t mean I’m going to be complacent, but I will try to accept those things I cannot influence.

 

Share your thoughts and comments.

