How to have the best Thanksgiving ever

When I first moved to Poland, I thought it was silly to do Thanksgiving since it wasn’t a holiday celebrated here. But the longer I have lived here and the more I miss the U.S., the more sense it makes for me to celebrate such “silly” holidays. Since there are no traditions here, I have embraced Thanksgiving and made it my own. There are no rules, no obligations, no family traditions to uphold. That is really freeing.

This year, because I am doing NaNoWriMo, I decided to host it later than it occurs normally and I will be having a Thanksgiving potluck on December 6, which just happens to be St. Nickolas Day.

Our Thanksgiving celebration really focuses on giving thanks. When my friends come over, I give everyone a piece of paper and we all write what we are thankful for. Some time after we finish eating, we read each other’s notes aloud. It’s quite a moving experience, and it’s so wonderful to share with friends. This year I am thinking of doing a “thankful tree” like this one here. It may turn into a nice winter decoration that could always be added to.

Below are my suggestions for the best vegan Thanksgiving ever!

Some rules:

  1. Have fun! Don’t be afraid to break with tradition and create your own.
  2. Invite friends. This is a holiday to spend with those you care about the most, who aren’t necessarily family.
  3. Don’t stress. Figure out a way for it work around your schedule and don’t give yourself too much stuff to do.
  4. Have lots of delicious food (but keep in mind #3).
  5. Put on some good music. (See below for some suggestions.)
  6. Don’t forget about the wine (or whatever you fancy).

 

Soups

Irish farmhouse soup from vegalicious recipes

Irish farmhouse soup from vegalicious recipes

Windy hearth stew from Produce on Parade

Windy hearth stew from Produce on Parade

Three sisters stew from Veg Kitchen

Three sisters stew from Veg Kitchen

Beet and black lentil borscht from My New Roots

Beet and black lentil borscht from My New Roots

 

Sides and appetizers

Onion flowers from The Project Table

Onion flowers from The Project Table

Roasted Brussels sprouts with pomegranate from the view from great island

Roasted Brussels sprouts with pomegranate from the view from great island

Indonesian coconut green beans from Gormandize

Indonesian coconut green beans from Gormandize

Rainbow slaw with sweet Tahiti dressing from lunch box bunch

Rainbow slaw with sweet Tahiti dressing from lunch box bunch

Thanksgiving stuffing poppers with cranberry jalapeno dipping sauce from Beard&Bonnet

Thanksgiving stuffing poppers with cranberry jalapeno dipping sauce from Beard&Bonnet

Vegan gravy from Food52

Vegan gravy from Food52

 

Main course

Cauliflower kale and potato pie from Tales of a Kitchen

Cauliflower kale and potato pie from Tales of a Kitchen

Wild rice loaf from Pure Ella

Wild rice loaf from Pure Ella

Squash pizza from Wholehearted Eats

Squash pizza from Wholehearted Eats

Lentil quinoa loaf from Vegan Richa

Lentil quinoa loaf from Vegan Richa

Shepherd’s pie from Amanda’s Apron

Shepherd’s pie from Amanda’s Apron

 

Desserts

Grain free pumpkin pie from My Whole Food Life

Grain free pumpkin pie from My Whole Food Life

Pumpkin coconut fudge from My Whole Food Life

Pumpkin coconut fudge from My Whole Food Life

Raw coconut cranberry cheesecake from Tales of a Kitchen

Raw coconut cranberry cheesecake from Tales of a Kitchen

Chocolate prune truffles with goji berries from Roslinozerka

Chocolate prune truffles with goji berries from Roslinozerka

Raw carrot cake from This Rawsome Vegan Life

Raw carrot cake from This Rawsome Vegan Life

 

Mood music from 8tracks

 

What are you doing this Thanksgiving? Do you follow traditions or do you do your own thing?

One thought on “How to have the best Thanksgiving ever

  1. WOW! Your food choices look so amazing! I am cooking Christmas this year and will try some out for sure! I am so lucky that this year I am home for Thanksgiving but I live in the UK so I know what it is like to miss it. My first few away I too was not sure what to do, celebrate or now But I did and it has always been FUN! LOVING your thanksgiving tree!!!! Have a Fab Day!!!!

    Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

