My personal manifesto

“Awareness of motivation plays a central role in the path of liberation. And as we settle into a growing awareness of ourselves, we begin to realize that our practice is not for ourselves alone, but can be for the benefit and happiness of all beings. How does our practice benefit others? How does feeling our breath or taking a meaningful step help anyone else? It happens in several ways. The more we understand our own minds, the more we understand everyone else. We increasingly feel the commonality of our human condition, of what creates suffering and how we can be free.

Our practice also benefits others through the transformation of how we are in the world. If we’re more accepting, more peaceful, less judgmental, less selfish, then the world is that much more loving and peaceful, that much less judgmental and selfish. Our mind-body is a vibrating, resonating energy system. Of necessity, how we are affects everyone around us. On a boat in a middle of a great storm, one wise, calm person can bring everyone to safety. The world is like that boat, tossed by the storms of greed and hatred and fear. Can we be one of those people who help to keep it safe?”

Joseph Goldstein from Mindfulness: A Practical Guide to Awakening

Photo source: unsplash

Photo source: unsplash

My personal manifesto

I make a commitment to no longer abandon myself. I want to be true to myself and my experience. I will not judge my thoughts, feelings, emotions or sensations, for they are welcome within me. I will remain close with an open heart and without judgment. I say “yes” to my experience and I will allow it to be exactly as it is. I will try to see it for what it is, not what I want it to be.

I will remember who I am. I will remain in my heart and find that place of stillness within, so I can move forward and greet what comes my way with calm and compassion.

I want to inspire. I want to instill hope. I want to challenge.

I want to break through my own self-imposed boundaries. I want to challenge who I think I am. I want to keep improving and growing.

I believe in LOVE. It is our highest calling. I know this deep in my heart without a twinge of doubt. That is the reason we are here at this time in this place, to experience the many manifestations of love.

I want to abolish us vs. them. It is we. We (human, animal, plant) are on this planet together. We are all here to love. There is no hierarchy. There is no one species, creature, sex, orientation or whatever that is more entitled or worthy. All humans (and animals) deserve the same rights no matter their age, nationality or race (what silly human inventions), sex, gender, sexual orientation, or whatever may make them different from the “norm.”

 

 

“A person experiences life as something separated from the rest – a kind of optical delusion of consciousness. Our task must be to free ourselves from this self-imposed prison, and through compassion, to find the reality of Oneness.”

– Albert Einstein

What would your manifesto contain?

Write your own manifesto. I dare you.

2 thoughts on “My personal manifesto

  1. Pingback: #1000Speak: The Practice of Compassion | confessions of a broccoli addict

Share your thoughts and comments.

