Top 10 posts of 2014

PHOTO SOURCE: picjumbo

PHOTO SOURCE: picjumbo

This is the time of year many people take stock, review the passing year, and plan for the upcoming year. I have a whole ritual that I do at the end of the year to review and reflect on my personal life. It involves candles, calm music, and a notebook. How else can a writer think about life other than through writing?

There are many things I have to think about with this blog. There are many ideas I have and probably each month in 2015 will be something different. I’m still trying to figure out my sweet spot with what to share on here, and I’d love to hear your thoughts. Since September, I’ve written posts that fall into one of these five categories:

  1. old writing (#tbt),
  2. poetry,
  3. writing thoughts and tips,
  4. random thoughts and reflections,
  5. writing prompts.

I really want to know what interests you and what you’d like more of, so I will be thankful for comments, constructive criticism. Of course, I do have some of my own ideas, but this blog isn’t just about me. I want it to be about you, my dear readers. I want to provide things you are genuinely interested in, things that can help you, move you.

One thing I know for sure, I am beat. November beat the crap out of me. OK, OK, I admit it. I did it to myself. I took on way to much with NaNoWriMo (which by the way I finished), work, life, the works. You know what I mean. November has left me so tired. And that is my very good excuse for my absence on here. That and the fact that I am trying to fit a month’s worth of translation work into less than 3 weeks so I can have at least two weeks off at the end of December.

But back to the blog. I recently looked at the site stats and the 10 most popular posts this year were:

  1. How I won NaNoWriMo last year
  2. Are you skipping this vital step in your writing?
  3. Beat of my own drum
  4. Reflections on impermanence and grief
  5. Fear not: chasing your dreams
  6. Hope
  7. Why I write…
  8. 7 effective ways to boost creativity
  9. Life is difficult and messy – some thoughts
  10. On the benefits of reading old work

This is actually a nice mix of three out of five of the post types I mentioned, and maybe that should be the clue in what direction I should be headed. That is something to think about.

Share your thoughts and comments.

