Have yourself a laugh to look better, younger, live longer, and be healthier overall

Image source: dirtydietrich

Image source: dirtydietrich

Tomorrow is global Belly Laugh Day. I never even knew such a holiday existed until recently, but I am completely on board. We all could use more laughter, especially considering that on average, adults laugh only 17 times a day while a child laughs 300 times a day.

Laughter can make us more attractive, and who doesn’t want that?

It can help us burn calories (about 50 calories per 10-15 minutes according to Maciej Buchowski, a researcher from Vanderbilt University).

It is believed to help keep normal blood flow, raise the level of infection-fighting antibodies, lower blood sugar levels, reduce stress hormones, ameliorate pain, and stimulate both sides of the brain. Laughter is similar to deep breathing. We all know breathing deeply is good for us.

Did you know one minute of laughter extends our life by an hour? I don’t know if this is actually true (My source didn’t share her source), but I’m not taking any chances. I want to live a long life, even set some records if possible. I need all the help I can get. So if I want to extend my life oh let’s say by about 20 years so I can live to 116 years of age, all I have to do is laugh for 175,200 minutes. That’s 2,920 hours or 122 days of continuous laughter.

So, I suggest that tomorrow you get together with a group of your friends and/or family and get laughing. Get laughing real good.

Get silly.

Pretend to be animals. Make animal noises. Walk like animals.

And laugh. Laugh the hardest you can.

Read some jokes. Share some jokes.

Watch a comedy.

Play a game of making each other laugh. Laughter then is difficult to resist.

Laugh at everything. Getting some distance between you and life events is one of the healthiest things you can do for yourself.

Let’s all laugh more. Not just tomorrow, but every day. The world would be a better place, or at least a happier one. And we may make ourselves more attractive and live longer in the process.

About a year ago I went to my first (and only) Laughter Yoga Club meeting and it was an amazing laughter experience. I felt I got a pretty good workout and there were times I laughed so hard I was sure I would pee my pants. There are Laughter Yoga Clubs all over the world, so find one near you.

I urge you to laugh tomorrow and then share your experiences here. Have you ever been to Laughter Yoga or something similar?

 

Sources:
The Connection between Laughter, Humor, and Good Health http://www2.ca.uky.edu/hes/fcs/factshts/hsw-caw-807.pdf
WebMD http://www.webmd.com/balance/features/give-your-body-boost-with-laughter
3 thoughts on “Have yourself a laugh to look better, younger, live longer, and be healthier overall

  1. I know what you mean. I’ve felt the happiest when I’d find laughter at the silliest and stupidist things. In all i think i only had two friends with whom most of my time with them was spent laughing to pure joy. Best feeling ever!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: I got lots accomplished in January… | confessions of a broccoli addict

Share your thoughts and comments.

