The Edacious Mrs. Rose (Part 3)

Welcome back for the third and final installment of “The Edacious Mrs. Rose.” Today we’ll finally get to the end and (hopefully) get all our answers. Enjoy!

Haven’t read the first part? Click here. To read part two click here.

The Edacious Mrs. Rose

 

Part 3

I spent one fairly pleasant afternoon with my ex-husband at a bistro nearby my apartment. It was something we did once in a while to remain in each other’s lives. We had no children and we parted amicably, so we felt those few hours spent together every few months were a sort of homage to the we we used to be.

These meetings had a similar pattern by now. We’d meet at the bistro. He’d order the buffet, I’d get the house salad and onion soup, we’d split dessert. Then we’d go for a short walk, talk a bit, and part in front of my building.

This time was no different.

Except for one slight detail. A slight detail important enough to alter the course of history.

He began, as he usually did, to tell me about a new girlfriend. A relationship with a woman so perfect, so beautiful words could not do her justice. With each sentence he spoke, my heart sank further and further into the pit of my stomach.

I couldn’t bear to even ask her name when he finished. I knew, but I wanted to be in denial. I did not want to have confirmation of what I already suspected. From what he told me, I gathered he did not realize that she was married. It didn’t matter; we were in the same boat as her husband – playthings. At least her husband had her in some way.

Where would I end up in all this? Soon I’d be tossed and forgotten. I loved her. I loved her as I had never loved any human being before I met her.

That evening, home alone going insane with my thoughts, I desperately needed to see her. I called her, but it went straight to voicemail. I called Mark and told him I had an urgent matter to discuss with Cici. I think he assumed it was about their marriage so he promptly had her take a taxi over to my place.

She flew in with kisses and affection, began caressing me. I let her. I wanted her near me. I wanted to keep her as long as possible. I forced myself to believe this moment was real and that it will last forever and I let myself melt into her. This was no schoolgirl infatuation. This was love, passionate, furious love.

She stayed the entire night and I begged her to stay longer. She worried about her husband. That is when I asked her to do the unimaginable.

“Leave him. Be with me. We can move away. We’ll go wherever you want. We can be together. I know I make you as happy as you make me. I love you, Cici.”

“I love you too, Diana,” she said as she began to kiss me with such fervor I could have died in that moment. And I let myself melt into her.

 

 

Hope you enjoyed the story. I’d love to get your feedback in the comments below.
Share your thoughts and comments.

