Checking in and more #1000Speak posts

february_pelican

 

February isn’t over quite yet, but I have so much planned for March, I thought I’d check in now.

I have written over 14,000 words thus far in February. This has resulted in 2 short stories, 6 poems, lots of essays and articles, and many unusable words.

Most popular posts in February

#1000Speak: The Practice of Compassion

The Dark Side of Compassion #1000Speak

31 residencies for writers (posted in January)

How My Dog Made Me a Better Writer

More #1000Speak: My Favorite 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion Posts Thus Far

The Edacious Mrs. Rose

Sharing Tuesday: The Art of Diana Sudyka

Sharing Tuesday: The Art of Katherine Ace

My favorite post

The Edacious Mrs. Rose

#1000Speak

When I signed up to join #1000Speak, I knew this would be big, but I didn’t realize how big.

Compassion is right up my alley as I have written about veganism on several occasions and I have written about self-love and acceptance. Compassion towards animals and ourselves is important to me. If there is nothing else you my dear readers take away from this blog, I hope it is at least an intentional effort at compassion.

This month, I wrote two posts on compassion for the 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion event: The Dark Side of Compassion (Feb. 6th) and The Practice of Compassion (Feb. 20th).

I have enjoyed the building of this community of bloggers who are all different, but came together to write about this one topic. You can check out my post on some of my favorite pieces here. There are talks of continuing this movement. I don’t know what will happen, but I plan on writing about compassion and issues close to my heart regularly. I will keep you updated on any developments.

Here are some more posts I enjoyed:

Hands and Heart in Haiti

On Compassion and Nonviolence

Spread the Flames of Compassion

We Are All Worth the Risk

The Edacious Mrs. Rose

I gave myself a challenge of writing this story based off this title that I came up with. The words edacious Mrs. Rose evoked so much in my mind. I am really happy with the story. I had several rules and things I wanted to achieve within the story, which I did.

About two years ago, I decided to imagine that I am writing for my childhood best friend, Betty. This makes writing so much easier. She was the first person I sent the story before I posted it on here. She loved it. I wrote it for her and for me. I don’t know if this is the right approach, but it is one that keeps me from blocking up. I know WHO I am writing for, which makes writing easier. There isn’t some undefined mass of people in my mind, just this one person. My hope is that there are plenty of other Betties in the world that will enjoy my work as well.

If you enjoyed “The Edacious Mrs. Rose,” please let me know (you will make my day or week or maybe even month). If you didn’t enjoy it, I would also love to hear from you. I always welcome constructive criticism. I went to art school; I can handle it.

I will continue to post my poetry and short stories on here, I would like to do it in a fashion that is most enjoyable to all, so any feedback you have on this topic, I would greatly appreciate.

150th post

This past Tuesday I posted my 150th post. Woohoo!

I would like to take this moment and thank all of you who read and comment on my posts. I have met some wonderful people through this blog. I hope to continue blogging for as long as possible. I see this as the best writing practice ever. Plus it is such a great way to have a regular practice. No matter what is happening in my life, I have to (I want to) make time for writing.

Sharing Tuesday

The art I have been sharing on Tuesdays has become extremely popular. Since art is something that is close to my heart, many of the characters in my stories are artists, and art plays a prominent role in my first novel (still in the works), I will focus on sharing art and artists that I admire. I’m glad you like what I’ve shared so far, and hopefully you will continue to enjoy the work I share.

A love letter to my younger self

I had been writing and rewriting A letter to my younger nerd for 3 months. The first draft was a pity party, and that’s not the message I wanted to give. I was proud to share that letter in January as it was a radical act of self-love and compassion. I’ve received many warm emails about it, and finally someone took me up on the challenge of writing a letter to their younger selves. That someone is Mandy Trout from Aphrodite Blossoming. You can read her beautiful letter here. Who else will take up the challenge?

Plans for March

March is Women’s History Month, so most of my posts will focus in some way on women and feminism. #tbt this month will not feature my old work, instead I will share some lesser known work from my favorite female authors. For Sharing Tuesday, I will post about my favorite female artists. There will be posts on feminism, abundance, loving your body, compassion, and others still to be determined. Even my writing prompts will have a feminist slant. On March 23, I will reveal my theme for the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge.

Thanks for stopping by and hope to see you again soon.

Share your thoughts and comments.

