Flash Fiction: Shapeshifter #shortstorysunday

shapeshifter

 

Now that you’re really gone, I can finally breathe my own breaths, be my own person. For you I would have become anything. I was a shapeshifter becoming whatever you’d wanted. One day I was a tree – rooted and stable. Another day, I was a flighty black crow, sometimes a timid doe, or even a wild but loyal wolf. It never seemed enough.

Now that you are gone, I can finally be me, not the me trying to please, but the me that I want to be, the true me, the me that I was when you weren’t around.

 

 

This flash fiction piece was written for the Carrot Ranch Flash Fiction Challenge.
March 25, 2015 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) include a juxtaposition between the ordinary and natural worlds. It can be civilization and nature; an edifice and a nest or cave; a human act and a natural occurrence; acculturation and adaptation. Compare or contrast as the prompt leads you to write.
15 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Shapeshifter #shortstorysunday

  1. That’s a really interesting take on the prompt, Ula. The freedom that is felt when one can truly be oneself is amazing. How often are we trying to be what someone else expects. I love the way you have expressed it here. Well done.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Carrot Ranch Communications

  3. The internal and the external person create a great juxtaposition when the internal is different to the external due to expectations in a relationship. You have portrayed this really well in your flash and I love the way you used the animals to denote different personality types. I wonder if she’ll find herself?

    Like

  4. How powerful… yet sad. It is too bad that so many people are in relationships having to be people other than themselves. You skillfully showed those dynamics!

    Like

    • Thank you, Roger.
      Charli’s prompt weirdly led me to thinking of people transforming into objects and animals, which led me to thinking why that would happen. Glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I think when the love is real people stop shapeshifting (at some point) and then they finally get to know the real them.

      Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

