Flash Fiction: The Rose Garden #shortstorysunday

The_Rose_Garden

 

The heat seemed boundless. Farmers predicted rising grain prices. Daniel said it was unavoidable. My only concern was for my rose garden; it hadn’t seen water for weeks.

“How long do you think they could last without water before we can declare the damage irreparable?” I asked Daniel.

“I don’t know, honey. They’re probably gone. Where’s my navy sweatshirt?”

“In the second closet.”

Three weeks had passed since water rations had run out. I skipped a glass of water a day for my roses.

“Honey, we need to get out before it’s too late.”

“But what about my roses?”

 

 

This flash fiction piece was written for the Carrot Ranch Flash Fiction Challenge.
April 1, 2015 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write about the day the earth turned brown. How did it happen? What else might be going on? It can be dramatic or even humorous. It can be the greater globe or a localized Occurrence. It can be an aftermath or a revival. Follow where the prompt leads you.

 

Did you enjoy this post? Subscribe to my monthly newsletter.

 

10 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: The Rose Garden #shortstorysunday

  1. Rose embody such beauty, it seems that if she gives up her roses she has to accept the ugly reality. An interesting glimpse of sacrifice, too — that she’d give up part of her own drinking ration. Lots of depth in these 99 words.

    Like

    • Thank you, Charli. The more I think about this woman and this flash, the more I think I may want to explore this story further.

      Like

  2. I know many passionate rose growers. The importance of holding on to something familiar and beautiful can be so important when everything else seems to falling in around. Lovely pic and story to go with it. 🙂

    Like

    • What is it about roses that makes people so passionate? I have several in my family. The results are beautiful, of course. It is such a pleasure being in their gardens. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Day the World Turned Brown « Carrot Ranch Communications

  4. Pingback: #1000Speak: Nurturing the Earth + Flash Fiction: The Ceremony | confessions of a broccoli addict

Share your thoughts and comments.

