F is for Forgiveness • #atozchallenge

forgiveness

 

Forgiveness

I can never forget
The pain has been seared into my brain
I’ve been branded like cattle for slaughter
I have forgiven
Despite my best efforts
To hate
To carry anger
A fire in the pit of my stomach
I have forgiven
No longer full of hate and anger
But I remain wary of the world
The pain will not let me be naive
The pain reminds me
Sometimes I must withdraw
Psychological skin a bit thicker
Not calloused
Am I wiser?
I have forgiven

 

 


This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. My theme is poetry. Come back tomorrow for another poem. Want to check out other bloggers’ posts? Go here.

 

Did you enjoy this post? Subscribe to my monthly newsletter.

 

30 thoughts on “F is for Forgiveness • #atozchallenge

  1. Forgiveness is good for the person who does so because, as you say, you let go of hate and anger. It’s an intentional feeling which you can control. To forget, on the other hand, is not in our hands. You can’t simply will yourself to forget, and I don’t think it’s a good idea to do so. We need to remember and learn to protect ourselves in the future, to be wary, as you say. Lovely poem 🙂 So much said in such few words.💗

    Like

  2. Such a powerful poem. The imagery of the cattle branded for slaughter is perfect and works with the rest of the poem really well to convey the pain and the way it is integrated into this person. The last line is haunting to me, because my brain wants to supply, “I have forgotten” but that isn’t right – this left such an aftertaste in my thoughts. Really well done. Blessed be.

    Like

    • Oh my goodness, thank you so much for your beautiful words. It’s so nice to know when your words that you have sat over many hours (sometimes days) reach someone. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Psychological skin a bit thicker
    Not calloused

    Wow! This line speaks to me. So difficult to be able to “take it” but not hate because of it. Good job!

    Like

  4. Pingback: F is for Forgiveness • #atozchallenge | 1...

    • Thank you Charli.
      It’s a truth with the psychological skin. It’s something I’ve had to come to terms with as I’m an idealist and I’d love for the world to be peaceful and lovey dovey. But there are lessons for us even in the things that leave us with battle wounds, or maybe most of all.

      Like

  5. Ooh I like the idea of our “psychological skin”–I think about body parts so literally that I always imagined a literally thick skin, but now I’m imagining a type of membrane that surrounds us, protects us. Great work.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Such a p[owerful, evocative and a little bit frightening with those raw emotions…a very cathartic piece. Well done. I could really sense that angst and the relief of forgiveness like rain at the end of a scorching Summer’s day. xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Forgiveness is always a blessing to the one who gives it as well as for the one who receives it. Holding onto anger can eat you up and continue to give the wrong-doer power over our lives. But the road to forgiveness can be a long and arduous journey, which you poem so well reflected.
    ~ We made it!!! ~
    Visit me at: Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B of Tremps’ Troops
    Don’t forget to snag the Survivor Badge for your sidebar and to add your A to Z Reflections post link at A to Z Challenge! They’ll have the Linky List up on Monday.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Blogging from A to Z April Challenge Reflections | confessions of a broccoli addict

  9. Pingback: Best of 2015 and Plans for 2016 | confessions of a broccoli addict

Share your thoughts and comments.

