K is for Koan • #atozchallenge #NaPoWriMo

Koan (2015) poetry

 

Koan

You must not be a monk
To be a seeker of truth.
But how can you attain it?
You already have it.

Just as the fish
Pays no mind to the water,
So you place your focus
Elsewhere.

But how, you ask.
The Zen master would say
Washing dishes,
Eating rice,
Walking.

 

 


This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. My theme is poetry. Come back tomorrow for another poem. Want to check out other bloggers’ posts? Go here.
Want to read other poems by NaPoWriMo participants? Click here.

 

Did you enjoy this post? Subscribe to my monthly newsletter.

birdie

 

12 thoughts on “K is for Koan • #atozchallenge #NaPoWriMo

  1. Ula, I like what you write about the fish not being aware of the water. That was a powerful image for me. I went for a lovely walk along the waterfront today at low tide with the dogs…so good for the soul and after photographing the sunset, I went out on the kayak paddling through the copperpink water. Just magic!!

    Like

    • I must admit, the idea is not my own. I read it somewhere long ago and it has stuck with me. It is such a good lesson.
      Sounds magical.

      Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

