M is for Magpie • #atozchallenge #NaPoWriMo

 

Magpie

I have befriended a magpie
That lives near
My ventilation chimney
He tells great stories
Chattering as usual
I listen while admiring
His iridescent blues
The long tail doing
A balancing act
He tells me of his adventures
And games
Of winter hunts
And mating gatherings
We have shared the same
Plot of land
For several years now
We have the same haunts

 

 


This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. My theme is poetry. Come back tomorrow for another poem. Want to check out other bloggers’ posts? Go here.
Want to read other poems by NaPoWriMo participants? Click here.

 

Did you enjoy this post? Subscribe to my monthly newsletter.

 

13 thoughts on “M is for Magpie • #atozchallenge #NaPoWriMo

  1. It felt weird looking at your magpie photo. “That’s not a magpie!!” In Australia, ours are black and white. We used to have a couple of magpies which were almost pets and I’d feed them our leftover bread.

    Like

    • That’s what they look like here in Europe. I was fascinated by them when I first moved here because of their iridescent blue. I really do have one that visits my vents and talks to us, but in general they don’t like to get too close to people. I love observing them though.

      Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

