U is for Understanding • #atozchallenge #NaPoWriMo

Thank You For Understanding (2015)

 

Thank You For Understanding

Dear World,
Thank you for understanding
I don’t want to be put together
I don’t want to apply makeup
I don’t want to wear heels
Thank you for understanding
Some days I don’t want to
Wash my hair
I don’t want your advice on
How to look better
Fit in
Blend in
Assimilate
Thank you for understanding
I don’t want to squeeze
Into your definition of
Femininity
Beauty
What is acceptable
Dear World,
Thank you for understanding
I just want to be me
Sometimes not put together
Dressed how I like
Doing things that feel good
That suit me
Thank you for understanding
And I don’t care what you think

 

 


This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. My theme is poetry. Come back tomorrow for another poem. Want to check out other bloggers’ posts? Go here.
Want to read other poems by NaPoWriMo participants? Click here.

 

Did you enjoy this post? Subscribe to my monthly newsletter.

wolf 2

9 thoughts on “U is for Understanding • #atozchallenge #NaPoWriMo

  1. Wonderful poem about the freedom of not following dictates. I like the way you express it in a positive way by demanding and being grateful for understanding. You won’t settle for anything g less. Well said!👏

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: April 24 #LinkYourLife Roundup | The Honeyed Quill

Share your thoughts and comments.

