X is for Xerothermic • #atozchallenge #NaPoWriMo

Xerothermic (2015)

 

Xerothermic

Anger wells up inside
Boiling hot magma
Spews out her throat
Nearby residents
Have acclimated
To her tempers
They no longer cry
Some pretend not to notice
The heat and dry air
Woven into their cells
They dare not imagine
A different environment
They dare not
Traverse into the
Unknown

 

 


This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. My theme is poetry. Come back tomorrow for another poem. Want to check out other bloggers’ posts? Go here.
Want to read other poems by NaPoWriMo participants? Click here.

 

Did you enjoy this post? Subscribe to my monthly newsletter.

sheep

4 thoughts on “X is for Xerothermic • #atozchallenge #NaPoWriMo

    • I don’t think I could have done this one without a dictionary, but at least now we have a new word in our vocabulary.

      Like

    • That is an astute reading, Charli. I think most people didn’t get it, as it by far has the least comments. This is actually about my own anger that I was feeling at writing. I thought I’d transform it into something and this came out. I also thought about abusive relationships and how people acclimate and that becomes the norm. I remember a breakthrough I had when I realized my norm was what most people would call high levels of stress. I was fortunate for that realization, because then I could let it go and change.

      Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

