Friday Fictioneers: Sex and Lilacs • #shortreads #flashfiction

PHOTO PROMPT – © Santoshwriter

PHOTO PROMPT – © Santoshwriter

 

“I must hurry.” The air was gravid with spring droplets, threatening a storm.

“Lucy, don’t go,” he half whispered as the wind blew about the cotton white curtains. She looked at him lying naked in bed. The room smelled of sex and lilacs.

“I can’t stay.”

He looked at her, pleading with his eyes.

“I have to go pick up Robbie from school,” she said.

“All right. When can I see you again?”

“Let’s meet for lunch tomorrow.”

“The usual?”

“Yes.”

They kissed goodbye.

As she walked out, the rain began.

“I love you,” he yelled out the window.

 

This flash fiction piece is in response to Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt.

22 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Sex and Lilacs • #shortreads #flashfiction

    • There’s two possible scenarios in this. Either they’re having an affair or her husband is out of the picture and this is a new relationship. Either way, she seems more the one to be in charge and setting the rules. Thanks, Helen.

      Like

  1. My garden smells of lilacs right now, but sex and lilacs…well a different thing altogether. And takes me to sex and lies so I’m not so sure what’s going on here. Intriguing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wanted it to not be completely clear. I’m glad you’re intrigued. It’s been raining a lot over here and lilacs are blooming like crazy so I couldn’t resist adding that sweet scent into the mix. I like where it took you.

      Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

