Your Words Moved Me

Clio: the Muse of History by Artemsia Gentileschi [Public Domain]

Clio: the Muse of History by Artemsia Gentileschi [Public Domain]

Welcome back for the second post in the Monday Inspirations series, where guest bloggers write about authors and books that inspired them. Today’s post is written by Anne Higa. You can check out Gulara Vincent’s post, How Agatha Christie Saved My Life, here.

 

So, it all started when I pondered this question: what female author or authors have moved me most?

And I realized the answer is not so simple.

On one hand, there are the famous names, the ones you probably recognize, which are definitely safe to mention, names like Jane Austen, Mercedes Lackey, L.M. Montgomery, yes, even Anne Rice.

Then there are the lesser known names with faces, smiles, with words of encouragement given and sought.

And I pause. I don’t want to name names, to trade

Recognition for recognition. As if I were saying “I like her dress” meaning an endorsement – or, a polite nothing.

I find myself writing this like poetry, like a kind of deeply held feeling, a belief, a thought. Because I do (not) want to be taken seriously. Don’t look at me. Look up.

The glass ceiling is still way up there. It is still too low. It is hard for me, as a woman/human/unpublished/self-published/aspiring author(?), to say how much certain women authors mean to me in part because

We are (not) supposed to Play The Game

To win

Like men do.

We must be better, stronger, smarter. We must remember our place.

I have been recently especially touched by Ursula K. LeGuin and her mind-bending, heart-rending observations on race, gender, and species. On self-identity. On courage. I have been recently, most especially touched to read words like Next thing you know women will want the vote, and Anti-(chattel)slavery in the U.S. happened (in part) as a result of the disproportionate number of (guess what?) males which were brought from Africa to the Americas. Because men, in general, are more trouble, because men, in general, will fight for their rights, while women tend to be

Passive.

I think of the still-pertinent author of The Feminine Mystique, Betty Friedan, of how far we’ve come – and how very, very far we have to go.

And I want to say in all honesty, to the author of this blog, to Ula: your words moved me, too. So, thank you.

 

Anne is a speculative fiction writer who styles herself a feminist – in the sense that she believes that women should be viewed as truly equal to men. Born in Hawaii, raised in New Jersey, and a recent transplant from Pennsylvania, she is now in the process of moving to North Carolina – and how she has missed the ocean. Check out her blog at annehiga.com.

 

Original image source: unsplash

Original image source: unsplash

8 thoughts on “Your Words Moved Me

  1. There’s much to ponder in this beautifully written post, Anne. Thank you, Ula, for sharing your space with Anne. It is so true that, though we have come so far, there is still a long way to go.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Finding Yourself Between Languages | confessions of a broccoli addict

  3. These are words that move me, too! Thank you for giving space for Anne to write and for adding to my contemplation of why we (women) remain so passive, so un-argumentive, so much on the sidelines while men race each other to succeed. Recently, at a conference in LA that was specifically for women, a keynote speaker stated, “The menu of public intelligence is boring and leaves out voices. Women have 15% of public voice.”

    Not only do women’s voices move me; they matter. We all need to speak up!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Harper Lee, Go Set a Watchman, and No Means No | confessions of a broccoli addict

Share your thoughts and comments.

