Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge – Day One: My Summer Reading List

I’m in a bit of a blogging funk recently, so I decided to finally take up this challenge. Read more about it below.

summer readingThe above picture is my summer reading list. These are not in the order I will read them – just the order I happened to place them to take the photo. I’ve begun reading three of them. Yes, I tend to read more than one book at a time. Each book has its own place and time when I read it.

  1. These Moments by Herbjørg Wassmo (English translation not yet available; I’ll be reading the Polish translation; it is also available in French and the original Norwegian). I bought this book at the Big Book Festival in Warsaw. I went to the author talk and I completely fell in love with the author. I believe this book may hold the emotional key to my current work in progress.
  2. Mountains of Parnas: science fiction by Czesław Miłosz (only available in Polish as far as I know). I’m a big Czesław Miłosz fan and I couldn’t resist reading the only science fiction story he’s ever written.
  3. Illuminations by Kuba Przybyłowski (only available in Polish as far as I know). A book of poetry by a young Polish writer. I love reading a poem or two before I go to bed. It’s such a wonderful way of ending a day.
  4. When the Doves Disappeared by Sofi Oksanen  (I’ll be reading the Polish translation; available in English as well as other languages). This is another book I purchased at the Big Book Festival. I went to the author talk with Sofi Oksanen and I was quite intrigued. This will be my first time reading about Communism from someone other than a Polish writer.
  5. NW by Zadie Smith. I got to be at the author talk with Zadie Smith at the Big BookZadie Smith NW signature Festival. I was sitting in the second row, mere feet away from her. I’ve already started reading this book and I know I won’t be disappointed. Zadie Smith is very talented.
  6. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. This is a book I’ve been wanting to read for a long time.
  7. Women Who Run With the Wolves by Clarissa Pinkola Estés. I tried reading this book in Polish, but I found it too difficult.
  8. Cosmos at the Ritz by Miłka O. Malzahn (only published in Polish as far as I know). A book written by a local author, inspired by local history. I always enjoy reading books by people I know.
  9. The Secret of Grange Farm by Frances Cowen. I bought this book for €1. I jump at any opportunity to buy books in English, so at this price I didn’t even hesitate. I don’t read many mystery or adventure books, so I’m quite looking forward to reading this.

What’s on your summer reading list?

I was nominated to take part in this photo challenge by Geoff Le Pard, who tells the most interesting stories and takes us on wonderful walks, as well as the talented and amazing Sacha Black. I nominate Emilia Mueller of Bookbug’s World to take up this challenge. Emilia always has great photos and stories to share.

The rules of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge are:

1) Post a photo each day for five consecutive days.
2) Attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or a short paragraph. It’s entirely up to the individual.
3) Nominate another blogger to carry on the challenge. Your nominee is free to accept or decline the invitation. This is fun, not a command performance!

18 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge – Day One: My Summer Reading List

    • So many of my friends quote it that I feel it’s required reading for me. I attempted to read it in Polish a few years ago and, despite the fact that my Polish is decent, I had a hard time with understanding and following it, so I’d been planning to read it for some time.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I never know what I will read next. I only read on Kindle and I get lots of free books. Currently I have over 2500 books in my Kindle account and about 100 on my Kindle (it’s new so I haven’t filled it up yet and I’ve begun deleting titles from the device after I have read them). My old Kindle has 1011 books on it! I did just buy Go Set A Watchman (Harper Lee) and began to read it so I know that much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! That’s a lot of books. I’d love to know what you thought of Go Set a Watchman. I can’t get used to reading on a screen. I have some books on Kindle, but I much prefer the paper copies. The physicality of books appeals to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll post a review when I finish. I’ve just been so busy with the grandkids (the 5 year old has developed a love of hiking so we’ve been hiking EVERY day!) so by the time I get to read it late at night, my eyes are too heavy with sleep.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. As to the translation: After going through most of my life thinking “gables” are “hills” (that’s how Anne of Green Gables was translated into Polish ) I stopped trusting translations and whenever a book is originally written in English – that’s how I read it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge – #1: Like a River… | BookBug's World...

Share your thoughts and comments.

