#IWSG Wednesday #2

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2Today is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day, which is the first Wednesday of every month. The purpose is to share and encourage, express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak, as well as offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

I missed last month’s post. My first was in June. This is my second IWSG post. Make sure to check out other writers’ posts here.

The co-hosts for the the August 5 IWSG are Nancy Gideon, Bob R Milne, Doreen McGettigan, Chrys Fey, Bish Denham, and Pat Garcia.

 

July has been a tough month for me. I’ve been battling my demons while trying to be gentle and loving with myself. Gentle and loving has meant I let myself not write at times.

It’s a hard thing to do to let yourself watch three movies in a row when you feel you should be writing. It’s hard to not berate, belittle, and feel like what you’re doing is not a total waste of time. It’s hard to believe that you’re not just fooling yourself making an excuse to not write.

Not writing much is exactly what I needed.

Part of being a writer is knowing what you need – physically, mentally, emotionally. It’s knowing when you need a break and when not writing is just a stalling technique. It can be a fine line, and at times I doubted that the actions I was taking were the right thing.

But I trust myself. I trust myself to know intuitively what I need. I trust myself to make the best choices. I trust that I am on the right path, that I am doing what I need to do, that even time not writing is time not spent in vain.

How do you support your needs as a writer? Do you ever doubt in your knowledge of the self-care you require?

 

I’d love for you to subscribe to my monthly newsletter, where I share my writing, some behind the scenes, and my road to publication.

fox

 

20 thoughts on “#IWSG Wednesday #2

  1. Ahh! I related SO much to this. I often set goals for myself that after a while, seem incredibly overwhelming and I end up “failing” or fall behind. We can all stand to give ourselves some grace and realize when we need to step back and take a breather. Whether that be a weekend trip with the family in which you disconnect from everything back at home, a day binge watching movies or a favorite TV show, or simply having a night out with friends. If we don’t take time to fully recharge, we are only working, only writing at half our potential.

    I’m heading to the coast for a camping trip this weekend with my parents. I’ll have a ton of downtime to enjoy the ocean, read, and wander the shops with my mum. A little mini recharge trip. These little escapes are typically just what I need, but it is certainly a struggle in understanding that it is okay to take those breaks.

    Hope you’re enjoying your holiday with your family! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I hope you had a fun trip, Christina. I think it’s a hard lesson to learn, but writing is so much about failure. We need to learn to accept it to some extent. Grace and confidence (in even the smallest amounts) are our greatest allies.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Knowing when to take a break is just as important and knowing when to get the old butt in the chair. Here’s to moving in the right direction. As George Harrison said, “If you don’t know where you’re going any road will get you there.”

    Have fun!
    Bish, your co-host #128 on the Alex Scale

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I completely agree. I love that song by George Harrison. When I started blogging again almost a year ago, I started with a post with that song.
      Thank you for visiting.

      Like

  3. I struggle with periods where very little writing gets done, as well. On those days that all I can do is watch movies, I tell myself that I am doing research on effective plotting and character development.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I tell myself the same things. When I pick one element of storytelling to focus on, I learn something from every movie and TV show I watch. Not that I get to do that too frequently. When I was at the Big Book Festival in Warsaw this June, even the biggest writers (like Zadie Smith) said that they always have periods of time when they don’t write. I remind myself of that to feel better.

      Like

  4. I know that I must write but then will scold myself for watching movies, most have seen already, instead of writing. But at least I try to take away from it, on how movies plot their stories and characterizatuon, to apply to my own writing. It’s an excuse I tell myself but a good one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah, I figure that movie watching is good for restocking the inner well when it gets drained. Sometimes we just need time off. I think I get nervous about it because for years I procrastinated and didn’t write…but I have good writing habits now, so I’m happy to take a day off when I need it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I think that is the difference, knowing when it’s just procrastination and when it’s a necessary break. I’m happy to say I’m also satisfied with my writing habits, although I am continuously working on improving.

      Like

  6. Ula, I definitely hear you! I know this probably sounds weird, but working full time has been a real stress reliever for me, a chance to have A Job while I move and take care of mundane stuff such that I know my mind won’t be feeling as creative. I don’t feel bad for “taking time off writing” either, but like you say – I need to be doing something else for a while, clear my mind so I can come back to it with a more even mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I didn’t know you wrote for the IWSG posts. I must have missed your June one. I’ve been wanting to write these forever but didn’t really feel like I belonged. That’s a great post right there. 😉 I love reading them, though. And this, yes, so much. Self-care is crucial and I think most people deal with doubts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been on the IWSG Facebook forum for a while now and finally decided to join in in June. I think you should give it a shot. You always write great posts, I’d love to read what you come up with for IWSG.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I still battle with my writers guilt demons. However I do know that in order to be the best writer I can be I need to rejuvenate my creativity with nature breaks, spending time with family, reading and of course watching movies or even some ridiculous mindless TV watching. My writing is always better for it. I am very mindful to stick to my goals too. It is a balancing act.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. July was rough for me, too and I allowed myself time outdoors and time to reflect. One thing I never want to return to is the tyranny of work. Writing is creative and soul-building as much as it is my business and commitment. Continue to be gentle, but do continue to write! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, the tyranny of work – that’s what I want to avoid. I never want writing to feel like something I have to do – it should always be a pleasure first of all. Luckily, since I’ve been working for myself for about a decade now, I am disciplined enough to always get back into the swing of things.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts and comments.

