#1000Speak Listening With Compassion: The Two Types of Voices Inside

Photo source: Unsplash

Photo source: Unsplash

What is it about listening that makes it so difficult? Maybe it’s the fact that we have to stop listening to that incessant voice inside – a difficult feat. What complicates matters is people don’t always say what they really mean. We’re taught to be nice, not to hurt others’ feelings, but most people rarely discuss emotions. A lot of what we say has to do with emotions, though.

That incessant voice inside is your ego, categorizing, labeling, and criticizing everything and everyone, including yourself. While it can be useful, it’s best to thank it for its input and send it off on its merry way. You’ll be much happier for it.

There’s another “voice” inside, but it doesn’t use words. This voice doesn’t need quieting. Actually, most of us suppress it. It speaks more within the realm of the body than the head.

And it doesn’t hinder listening to others. Being in touch with this voice makes listening to others easier.

We don’t have to forsake ourselves to listen to others. We can listen to our deep inner voice while we’re present for others. It’s a technique that takes a while to master, as it is something we are not taught, but it is worth it.

I have to admit that I have had problems with being present with myself. The unending stomach aches and clenched jaw proved it. I couldn’t believe the amount of physical pain I had endured once I unlearned this, but I hadn’t realized how I was functioning and that there were other ways.

I was allowing the incessant ego voice in my head to lead the way. I identified with its every thought; I felt it was my own. Now I know that these are just passing – they are not my own. Some can be helpful, sure. I pick and choose which ones stay; most don’t.

Being present and listening to my deep inner voice has made me available to others. I can truly listen now. It’s only taken a little over thirty years to get here.

How do you deal with that incessant voice?

1961056_10203750622142090_5967365877750421948_oI wrote this post as part of the 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion movement. This month’s theme is listening. You can read my previous posts here.

Did you enjoy this post? Subscribe to my monthly newsletter.

3 thoughts on “#1000Speak Listening With Compassion: The Two Types of Voices Inside

  1. Pingback: #1000Speak Listening With Compassion: The Two T...

  2. I agree, it’s hard to stop that ego voice go and o focus on the inner voice, but it’s not impossible! I just work on this theory and try my best to be present in the present and keep my thoughts at rest when listening to others so that I can actually listen to what they have to say to me!: )

    A wonderful post! Thanks for sharing!

    Do take a look at my post which is written on similar lines: http://www.expressinglife.in/2015/08/the-art-of-listening.html
    Would love to know your views about the same! 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

