#IWSG Wednesday #3

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

I don’t know how it happened, but it’s time once again for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group post. We post on the first Wednesday of every month. The purpose is to share and encourage, express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak, as well as offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! Make sure to check out other writers’ posts here.

 

Well, somehow it happened. It’s September. Little broccoli lover (aka my son) is back in school – first grade.

August/September is when I usually make some changes in my life. I pick one thing to focus on to improve. In 2013, I began journalling daily which led to the development of a healthy writing habit. Last year, I began this blog on September 1st.

My focus now is to be more intentional and regular with physical activity. I’m three weeks in and I’m proud of myself. Today I did 11.5 km on my bike in winds that made me doubt I’d make it home. Last week I did over 40 km, discovered some parts of the city I’ve never been and muscles long unused.

To create this new habit, I’m using methods that worked for me when I was working on my writing habit. I give myself props just for showing up. I started with just quick rides on my bike. I followed the advice of finding something I like and going with that – for me it’s bike riding. I’ve tried running and I truly do not enjoy it, so why torture myself?

I’ve set a goals and rewards system. My goal is to ride my bike 5-7 days a week and to learn to do some proper push-ups and pull-ups. The city built a playground with areas for adults, including street workout gear, which is just a fancy way of saying monkey bars for adults. My goal is to be strong enough to do some fun stuff on they monkey bars by spring. I also reward myself with money for each week I keep up my habits. I plan on buying something nice and not practical with the money.

This is all nice and good, Ula, but what does it have to do with writing? You may be thinking.

Well, first of all, I just gave you my recipe for building a habit. It may work for you for any habit you may want to develop, including a writing habit.

Secondly, our brain cannot function properly without physical activity. We are physical beings after all. Our lives need balance. I definitely feel I need balance. I spend so much time sitting in front of the computer either writing or working on others’ texts, physical activity is a lifesaver in many ways.

So the theme for this month for me is habit and balance.

What’s your theme for the month? Do you try to attain some (semblance of) balance in your writing life?

 

I’d love for you to subscribe to my monthly newsletter, where I share my writing, some behind the scenes, and my road to publication.

birdie

22 thoughts on “#IWSG Wednesday #3

  1. Congrats on he exercise! I’ve learned over and over (or is that learning if I have to keep learning it?) that I need to be physically active or I feel like crud. And my jeans are tight. Diet alone is not enough. What’s helped me too is accountability groups. I have a friend who does Beach Body coaching but thankfully she’s not too pushy on the expensive shakes (which I did and they are $$$$), but her Facebook check in groups are so helpful to stay on track and motivated.

    Here is my IWSG post. Thanks for stopping by!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It seems to be a lesson I need to learn over and over and over again as well. But I guess that’s life. That’s why this time I am only doing things I enjoy. It’s not about looking better, it’s about feeling better. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. You have a great approach…eating the elephant one bite at a time. Focusing on one change makes it less overwhelming. It’s a good reminder for me. During the day I alternate writing, research and related tasks with physical activity, and it really helps. At 56 I am in the best shape of my life, and I feel mentally stronger since I started doing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadine, I’ve learned (the hard way) that the only way I can make a habit stick is by focusing on one at a time. Your day sounds wonderful, and I hope to be able to say the same at 56.

      Like

  3. I have been such a slacker of all things this summer and I decided to work on physical activity this fall too. I’ve been exercising and walking and it definitely clears my head which helps with my writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this! You’ve inspired me to follow in your footsteps. I do great with exercise before a vacation, but then I slack off again. I really need to make it a daily habit.

    What do you usually reward yourself with, if I’m not being too nosy?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s always great to be an inspiration, especially when it comes to health. I usually put away some money each week and then buy shoes or clothes, but this time I will either buy a dress, which I wear rarely or something else entirely. I’m not too sure. I may save up for a while and then take myself for a few nights away somewhere to write. That actually sounds heavenly.

      Like

  5. This is so timely for me–this spring, when I went to my physical, the weight on the scale was not welcome. So I started taking up a habit of walking two or three times a week to visit my aunt and grandmother–it’s about a mile. Plus, there’s been increased time on the elliptical, too. I’m gotten passed the feeling like I’m going to die feeling whenever I exercise, which is nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The feeling like I’m going to die is what I hate when it comes to running. I can handle it on a bicycle or elliptical, but not running. Good luck on the healthy habits and thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  6. Congrats on the exercise habits! Trying to do the same because soon it’ll be Thanksgiving :-O As for the theme of the month mine is just “let’s get it done!” But that’s more of a feeling than a theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks and good luck with yours as well. That’s a good theme. I have a history of abandoning projects, so that would work for me as well. I’m getting better, but still need to rally sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve got a self-defense class five times a week, which is where I get most of my exercise. And it produces some of my weird ideas (the instructor’s sense of humor helps with that).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ula, that sounds like a great plan! I’ve been visiting the gym almost every day – I was told by a trainer back when that you should always have at least one day off. I agree, it sets the tone for the rest of your day/week. This month, I’m in transition mode, which is how September usually seems to be for me. I’m moving from full-time work back to freelancing (got an article written this morning, yay) and getting ready for a seminar end of the month – and then we’ll see. Congrats on making it to first day of school with your little one! I know that interim time can be crazy, not that I have kids but I know parents.
    All the best Ula!
    Anne

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts and comments.

