Weekend coffee share: trust and faith

Weekend Coffee ShareI just checked, and my last weekend coffee share post was in mid-June from Warsaw. Well, I’m back into the full swing of blogging, so we’ll be having coffee regularly.

If we were having coffee, I’d offer you some coffee or lemon water, which is what I’m having. When we finish, I’ll be off on a bike ride. When I return, the babysitter will get here and I’ll go with my husband to a Birth into Being workshop, where I’ll spend most of the weekend. I usually have some fears before I go to workshops during which I know there will be some deep stuff happening, but I think that’s normal. I don’t know what exactly will happen or what to expect.

Last weekend, my husband and I had some heated conversations about family stuff. Ultimately we came to the same conclusions and are on the same page, which is good. What bothered me was how much certain things moved and angered me. It was the full moon last weekend, and I went to bed with the intention of inner peace. I asked my higher self to help facilitate peace so I am not so easily angered. When I woke the next morning, still half asleep, I had two words as a response: trust and faith. (I found this a few days later.)

I relaxed.

And so I trust this weekend will go as it must. I trust that I will learn what I need to. I will immerse myself in the process with faith and love.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that the European refugee crisis is weighing heavily on my mind, as it must be on many people’s minds around the world. I cannot believe the ugliness this whole thing has brought out in people. They use words of hate. Generalizations. I am bewildered.

These are PEOPLE in desperate need of help. These are people. People. Imagine yourself or your family in their situation. What would you do?

It seems so simple to me. I do not care who they are or where they are from or what they believe. They are people in need of help. And we are people capable of helping them. That is all that matters. We must let the heart lead. We cannot heed to fear or hate. I have read so many articles on the topic recently and there is much fear out there. We must be careful. Fear is a signal that we should pay attention to, but it cannot be allowed to lead.

Suzie Speaks wrote a thoughtful post on the matter, so you should hop over there and read it.

The whole situation made me think of the poem Refugee Blues by W. H. Auden. Read it as well.

I have faith in humanity. I trust Europe will do the right thing.

How was you summer? What are your plans for the weekend?

Weekend coffee share is hosted by Part Time Monster. Check out other posts here.

21 thoughts on “Weekend coffee share: trust and faith

  1. Ula, have a great weekend and I think trust and faith are some great mottos to go by.
    I hope that the EU will deal with things appropriately and not always judge everything by its costs, it’s saving people and not saving banks…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to have you back around the coffee share—hope your summer was a good one!

    I’ve been thinking a lot about the refugee crisis too. We’re in the midst of upcoming presidential elections, and with Donald Trump as some conservatives’ favored candidate, my concern for immigrants and refugees here in the U.S. has doubled, as the attitudes toward them are sometimes very negative.

    Hope the retreat goes well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been meaning to get back to it for a while now, but I wanted to be sure that I’ll be able to visit other bloggers and leave comments before I jumped back in.
      Donald Trump. Oh my! I’ve been debating whether or not to actually vote in this upcoming election. His approach to immigration is just frightening. He’s the whole reason I’m thinking of being in the ‘for absentee voting’ category. I’ve abstained from voting in the last two elections for several reasons. The biggest being absentee votes are not counted in all situations and I feel that when I am living outside a country (even if it is for a time being) I don’t have enough knowledge to influence its politics. Plus, the general public voted the way I would have in the last two.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can understand that reluctance—that’s why I didn’t vote in local elections for a while, because I hadn’t changed my voter registration and didn’t want to weigh in on politics I wasn’t really living in the middle of. Probably even a bigger deal when you’re in a whole other country.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Agreed. I wonder if what Pope Francis said this weekend will change things in Poland. From what I read, it’d mean about 10,000 families (at least) being taken in in Poland. I am appalled at all the Catholics (here in Poland) that protest abortions but then look the other way when children are dying.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been thinking of things I can do to help with the Refugee Crisis, I’ve also been trying to react badly to the negative nasty horrid things I’ve seen on social media, I just don’t understand how people can think of other people in this way.
    I hope your retreat goes well, and I’m going to remember the trust and faith thing in my own life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I woke up; to a CNN alert saying that Pope Francis was encouraging people to open their homes. I hope that people actually are; I like to keep some faith in humanity alive ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • I hope Catholics listen to him. Poland (where I live at the moment) is majority Catholic, so I hope his words have an affect. Obviously, it’d be nice if Europe had a plan.

      Like

Share your thoughts and comments.

