The Gallery Opening • #flashfiction #shortreads #99words

The Gallery Opening

“So what do you think?”

“Well, don’t tell the artist I said this, but…” Her eyes followed the strokes of golden yellow, voice quieted to a whisper. “But this one is a bit pedestrian. All the other ones have all this depth to them, but this is simple, childish. It’s like the artist got tired of all the depth and wanted to be shallow, wanted to paint something pretty but meaningless. I much prefer the complicated messy ones.” She turned and looked at him. “What do you think?”

He smirked. “It doesn’t matter what I think, I painted them.”

 

ᴥᴥᴥᴥᴥᴥᴥ

This flash fiction is in response to Charli Mills’ Carrot Ranch Flash Fiction Challenge.

September 23, 2015 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) declare an intention in a story. Is it one person, a character speaking up or speaking out? Is it a group or a nation? Create a tension before or after the declaration. It can be private or public, big or small. Does it have power to those who state it or hear? What does it change?

Did you enjoy this short story? If you like my fiction, click here to subscribe to my newsletter.

12 thoughts on “The Gallery Opening • #flashfiction #shortreads #99words

      • Yes. Definitely. I like his smirk and wonder what he’s thinking. Also, I like that she isn’t some ditzy (or drunk) woman stumbling into an embarrassing moment, she’s thought out her dislike of this so I’d like to know more about her. Is she an artist? Does she teach art? Own a lot of art? So, yes. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Good. She’s actually a writer. The previous flash fiction with her husband is also from this story. This gives me the encouragement I need to get back into this story. Maybe I’ll try to submit it somewhere.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Say it Strong & Clear! « Carrot Ranch Communications

Share your thoughts and comments.

