#IWSG Wednesday #4

Photo source: pexels.com

Photo source: pexels.com

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

Welcome to the wonderful month of October. It is one of my favorite months. And once again, it’s time for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group post. We post on the first Wednesday of every month. The purpose is to share and encourage, express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak, as well as offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! Make sure to check out other writers’ posts here.

I’ve made it

This may be one of my least insecure posts, but I wanted to declare that I’ve made it. I’m a success.

No, I haven’t published my novel. I still haven’t gotten through draft number two.

I still keep being rejected by literary magazines, but this does not deter me from resubmitting.

So how can I say I’ve made it?

Well, I recently thought about it, and despite the fact that I still feel I have a lot to accomplish, I know that I am on the right path. I make money with words – sometimes by rearranging the words of others. But the point is that I work in the field that I want to.

Every once in a while, I go and sit at a café during the day and write. I go to talks and literary events. I write. I read.

Everything else I accomplish from this point forth will be a nice bonus, but I realize there are no guarantees, so I am happy to be where I am and I want to bask in the light of this life that I’ve made for myself.

 

You may have noticed I’ve been posting less recently. I’ve been busy working on other things, but you should check out my posts over at Part-Time Monster: one about Slavic vampires and the other about Rusalki. Also, I’ve began posting over on Medium. I’ll be posting there about writing every once in a while.

Want to show your support? I’d love for you to subscribe to my monthly newsletter, where I share my writing, some behind the scenes, and my road to publication. This month I sent out an interview with my novel’s main character.

24 thoughts on “#IWSG Wednesday #4

    • Yes, I definitely agree. Saying success is only when we achieve something completely out of our control can be so discouraging. Of course, writing a best seller or getting an award is great, but we must be able to enjoy the process. As the saying goes: it’s the journey not the destination.

      Like

    • Thanks. I definitely plan on going, but I feel some of the pressure is off since I’m a success already. Glad you enjoyed the video. I thought it fitting, plus her accent is wonderful.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Nothing like waking up in the morning, looking around and thinking, “I’m in a good place.” Especially in creative endeavors where the benchmark for success is all over the place and often times idiosyncratic, it’s good to be at peace with oneself and the journey both past and present. *thumbs up*

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts and comments.

