#IWSG Wednesday #5: Fear

Image source: Pexels

Image source: Pexels

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

It’s the first Wednesday of the month, which means it’s Insecure Writers Support Group day. The purpose is to share and encourage, express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak, as well as offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! Make sure to check out other writers’ posts here.

 

Today I want to share my fears.

My fear is that no one will want to read what I wrote. No one will want to publish it and if I decide to publish it myself, no one will buy it.

I don’t think about this fear. It isn’t entirely conscious. It sits there somewhere between the cracks in my brain, invisible to my everyday thoughts. It preys on any hint of doubt.

This fear can be logically explained away as completely untrue. There are already people who want to read what I write. I get emails and questions about when my book(s) will be available. There’s even some evidence that I’m a half decent writer. Some of the things I write are readable, some a pleasure to read.

Why this fear? Why this doubt?

What do I do with it?

I keep going despite it. I keep writing. Chipping away at its invalidity.

I’m publicly acknowledging this fear, but I know I must keep going. Keep writing. Inch forward ever so slightly.

Because I know the alternative. I stopped writing and it nearly killed me. I know that sounds melodramatic, but writing is like oxygen to me. Other writers may understand this. I learned the hard way that my life without writing is empty and meaningless and unsurvivable.

Writing is my only path. And that is a scary realization. I will succeed or perish on this path, but it is my only option. The only one worth truly living for.

Feel free to share your fears in the comments.

Some inspirational words that showed up in my Facebook feed this week as I was preparing this post:

“Courage is feeling the fear and doing it anyway.” – Oprah Winfrey

Portrait photograph of Georgia O'Keeffe by Alfred Stieglitz. 1918 (Public Domain)

Portrait photograph of Georgia O’Keeffe by Alfred Stieglitz. 1918 (Public Domain)

 

 

 

“I’ve been absolutely terrified every minute of my life – and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.” – Georgia O’Keeffe

 

 

 

 

Want to show your support? I’d love for you to subscribe to my monthly newsletter, where I share my writing, some behind the scenes, and my road to publication. Last month I sent out an interview with my novel’s main character.

28 thoughts on “#IWSG Wednesday #5: Fear

  1. Paradoxically, it requires a lot of courage to admit this fear! I can relate, particularly now that I maybe getting closer to putting my work out into the world. Thank God you write, Ula. Can’t wait to read your book!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This seems a pretty universal fear for writers, but that doesn’t make it any easier. I worry that what I care about in my writing will be dismissed or devalued. Putting your passion out there for public consumption always carries a risk of rejection. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It’s good to know writers aren’t in this alone.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What’s the true definition of courage? Pressing forward despite our fears. This is a fear I have with every published work, but you know, the more of them I get out there, the less it hits me. Keep pressing forward!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I am glad you write! When I read your stories in the newsletter I absolutely love them. That character interview makes me want to read your book. So once you are published I will read and buy because I believe that it will be good!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. It’s amazing to read that this is universal… and that most (all?) writers have experienced this fear at some stage along the way.
    I wonder if the same applies to popular and best-selling authors? Probably. Maybe they manage theirs better…
    Happy IWSG Day! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I get you on the writing = oxygen.
    It’s your purpose. And if you’re away from it too long, you’ll start to drown. It happens. It’s happened to me. That’s why you have to be strong enough to decide to breathe for yourself. Through all the fear and worrying and doubting, you’re still doing what you love more than anything. And the more you do it, the better you get. The more you feel… alive. So don’t give up. Keep choosing to breathe. Just like me. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I get this thoughts a lot, though it’s not one of my immediate fears with my writing. Not as immediate as some of my other ones, anyway. I do a lot of writing for pleasure outside of what I try to have published, so a part of me (in varying degrees of smallness) doesn’t think much about whether or not my writing will be read, because it brings me enough pleasure to tell the stories to myself that extra readers would only add to what writing already gives me. Granted, I don’t have that many writers at the moment anyway, so maybe I just don’t know what I’m missing or… not fearing. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Yeah, I understand. The days become a mindless grind when you’re not writing. But worse, is when you’ve become just a drone. A cog, going through the days. And before you know it, you’re all mid-life crisis mode, asking yourself what you have done with your life. Don’t worry, it’s a constant fear we all feel. Just don’t let it stop you from writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I think so many of us writers are more afraid of success than we are of failure. Once we are successful the pressure is on to get better and better.
    If we fail we can just go back to our caves and try again.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Everyone who is sensible feels fear sometimes. Only fools or liars are brave and seelf-assured all the time. When I tell people I used to be shy, they don’t believe me. That’s a compliment, because it means I’ve finally ovrecome the paralysing shyness I’ve felt for most of my life! When people tell me I seem self-confident, I say to myself, ‘See, you did it, too. You overcame it.’ But I’m fooling myeslf. it’s still there.I’m still shy and lacking in self-esteem, But I’m struggling to overcome both every day. Some days I’m more successful than others. Believe you can overcome your fears, and you will, some of the time 🙂 Thanks for being so honest.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That oxygen and fear is part of breathing the writer’s life. I always feel relieved when another writer admits it is there, but we keep taking in the oxygen. There is a certain triumph in courage. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: NaNo2ndDrafto update – dealing with fear | confessions of a broccoli addict

  13. That has to be the most beautifully written post about this fear that I’ve ever read.

    We all go through it. And then, when our success has finally convinced us that we are readable and publishable, we worry about other things. Is the next book going to be as good as the last one? Are we losing our touch? Why are our numbers slipping on the bestsellers lists while our colleagues’ are climbing? It never ends.

    Keep writing. Keep believing.

    Sorry it took me so long to read your post! It’s been a crazy month.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: Best of 2015 and Plans for 2016 | confessions of a broccoli addict

Share your thoughts and comments.

