Photo source: Unsplash
Photo source: Unsplash

 

Did you know tomorrow is International Picnic Day? Me neither. I love looking up things like that.

Nothing’s better than a picnic. My family and I love picnics and we start going as soon as we can and for as long as we can. We have a few picnic spots in the city and a few outside.

We usually ride our bikes with a wicker basketful of goodies and a picnic blanket. Preparations are part of the fun, and the best part is getting there. I usually take a book as I can’t imagine a successful picnic that doesn’t include laying on the grass and reading, if only for a little while.

Over the years, we’ve acquired some accoutrements we deemed necessary; in addition to the basket and blanket, we have bamboo cutlery and plates, various containers and Thermoses. Can you tell we take picnicking very seriously?

Writing Prompt: Write a story or poem that somehow includes a picnic. Maybe the characters are getting ready for a picnic, maybe they’ve just returned, maybe something happens at a picnic. See where this prompt takes you.

Post your story/poem or link in the comments by June 29 to be included in the round up.


14 responses to “Writing Prompt Wednesday #33: Life’s a Picnic”

  1. Solveig Avatar

    There is a story in my head that started growing while I was trying to fall asleep last night… Thankfully you do give a good amount of time to come up with one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ula Avatar
      Ula

      I’m looking forward to reading what you come up with.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Silver Screenings Avatar

    This is an excellent writing prompt. A picnic could go in all kinds of directions…!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cindy Avatar

    Once Upon a Picnic – by Cindy Scott

    “It almost seemed impossible to believe. I mean when you look at it, it doesn’t look like it should be anything,” I said, pointing at a plate on the blanket that was spread across the ground. “You agree with me, right?”

    The girl sat across from me and just kind of shrugged. She picked up a banana. “I am not the most knowledgeable about such things,” she said trying to ignore the plate and its content. “I had to pick up the plate to take it out of the basket. I got my look at the thing. Really you should know, I mean you mom made the damn thing!” She tugged at the banana’s stem, it cracked, and there was a definite smell of banana in the air. “I think you should try it, she said pointing with the banana and smiling. “Right now!” She took a bite of banana and nodded.

    “Mariana, I don’t like trying new things. Not sure why it was included. I thought it was a desert or something.” I made a grand gesture at the banquet, “Besides Mom made far too much food. We could never hope to finish it all. This is a picnic and picnics need hot dogs and hamburgers.”

    Mariana eyed her companion and shook her head. “Well, okay, soy dogs and veggie burgers too,” I added. I hated when Mariana reminded me she was a vegetarian. Hell at least she still like cheese and ice-cream. I took another look at the plate lying in the center of the blanket.” I never asked what mom made for our picnic. I just assumed that she included the regular stuff. I lean over to sniff the plate. There was a decidedly nutty smell to the plate. ”Well, we shouldn’t let it ruin our picnic, should we?”

    “I am not going to be the first one to try it,” Mariana coughed as she laid down the peel on her plate and picked up a bottle of water. “I will stick with what I know, and she pointed to the pile of cheese sandwiches.”

    “You’re the one who is always telling me that I need to try new things. Why are your afraid to try it?” I asked.”

    “Well…yeah, okay. But you’re not trying it either and you are pickier than me. I like what I know and what’s in them.” Mariana smiled and picked up a sandwich, taking dainty little bites.

    “That’s weak and not fair! You should try something different,” and I gestured at the plate sitting there, looking rather lonely in a room of hamburgers and cheese sandwiches. Mariana looked at me, as if to judge me and my choices. “Oh don’t look at me like that, Mari. Something different that doesn’t have meat in it. Like this,” and I held up the plate, leaning it towards her. “Yum?”

    “Ah, no!” she said firmly.

    “But, you don’t know if there is meat.” Mariana turned her head to watch a swooping aerial display of starlings and chickadees over the adjoining field.

    I put the plate down and scooted over to her. “Fine! You don’t have to eat it, whatever it is, Mari.” I put my arm around her shoulders. “We can just enjoy this picnic that Mom made for us, promise?”

    She was still looking away at the rolling fields of gray-green grasses, daisies, and buttercups. “Come on, I promise not to make big deal about what you eat, if you won’t make a big deal about what I eat. Also, plate is forgotten?”

    She turned her head slowly and shoved me away, “Okay, Goober,” and picked up her water bottle again. “Now I am kinda curious to know what your Mom made for us.”

    “We should leave it be,” I said.

    “How about this, one taste for each,” she said. Mariana leaned forward and picked up the plate. “You know, we are acting like kids who don’t want to eat their spinach or pork chops.”

    I laughed, “Yeah, in a way we are.” I picked up a plastic fork and gently scooped up the saucy and spongy thing from the plate. “Tell my Mom I love her,” I said is a dramatic tone. Another sniff and I could smell nuts and something like chocolate. It has to be a dessert. Maybe? “Okay, going to do it,” and I took a deep breath and opened wide.

    Surprisingly, I didn’t die. Neither did Mari.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ula Avatar
      Ula

      I like how you built up the suspense and left us wondering until the end. I wonder what it was. Was it any good?

      Like

  4. Norah Avatar

    International picnic day. Now there’s one worth celebrating! Should be more like that! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ula Avatar
      Ula

      There are many interesting holidays. I like to check once in a while.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Norah Avatar

        I’m pleased you did – and shared! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. If we were having coffee – 20 June 2015 | Solveig Werner Avatar

    […] I can finish it today, I’ll post my entry to this weeks writing challenge hosted by Ula @ the Confessions of a Broccoli Addict, the theme is Picnic, which definitely suits the seasons of this weekend. I think that I might […]

    Like

  6. Elissaveta Avatar

    Now I want bamboo cutlery.
    I love picnics too and the preparations are the best part. It is all too easy to just drop by the shops and buy a salad and a loaf of bread and I hate to admit I have done this before but comparatively, spending the morning whipping up some healthy snacks is a lot more rewarding.
    I shall be waiting for the next sunny weekend eagerly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ula Avatar
      Ula

      To tell you honestly, we rarely use the bamboo cutlery, but it is nice to have.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A long forgotten picnic | Solveig Werner Avatar

    […] is my reply to the writing prompt from Wednesday 16th of June 2015 provided by Ula @ Confessions of a Broccoli Addict. The prompt is “Write a story or poem that somehow includes a picnic. Maybe the characters […]

    Like

  8. Stories of summer | confessions of a broccoli addict Avatar

    […] Want to take a shot at another writing challenge? There’s still time to respond to the picnic prompt. […]

    Like

  9. We’re going on a picnic or two… | confessions of a broccoli addict Avatar

    […] Below are two responses to Writing Prompt Wednesday #33: Life’s a Picnic. […]

    Like

Share your thoughts and comments.