monday inspirationsWelcome back to another post in the Monday Inspirations series, where guest bloggers write about the books and authors that have inspired them. Today’s post is by Candy Korman. You can check out OTHER Monday Inspirations posts here.

 

It all started on a dark and stormy Sunday afternoon. I switched on the TV and there was a Frankenstein movie that I’d never seen before. I was hooked. Frankenstein, in nearly every incarnation, is my catnip. Having grown up before the VCR/DVR/streaming movie era, I was a fan of the classic horror flicks on TV’s ‘Creature Features’ and, since my late father worked at Columbia Pictures, we had a 16mm projector in our basement and I screened Boris Karloff, Lon Chaney and Bela Lugosi movies for my friends.

Years later, on that fatal rainy Sunday, it suddenly struck me that I was terrible Frankenstein fan because I had never read Mary Shelley’s novel. I found a copy the following day and was knocked over by the opening pages. It begins with a fraught letter to and from characters I did not recognize from any of the many movies…

You will rejoice to hear that no disaster has accompanied the commencement of an enterprise which you have regarded with such evil forebodings. I arrived here yesterday, and my first task is to assure my dear sister of my welfare and increasing confidence in the success of my undertaking.

I was hooked again. Mary Shelley’s ‘ghost story’—written to entertain her friends on a rainy, cold holiday in the country—is an extraordinary piece of literature. Through Dr. Frankenstein and his Monster, she explores fundamental questions about life, mortality and—most of all—what it means to be human.

I was inspired by the tale, by the story of how Mary came to write this astonishing novel and how it evolved into a familiar canon of Frankenstein-inspired entertainment. Some of the characters and incidents in the original, including the encounter with the blind man, are part of the movie/TV canon, while other Frankenstein elements were left behind and replaced by Igor and other now familiar memes.

The original inspired me to write the first of what became my Candy’s Monsters series of novellas. ‘The Mary Shelley Game’ is a house party mystery with an invitation that asks guests to BYO-Frankenstein stories instead of a bottle of wine. In addition to the overarching mystery, I created the stories written by the individual characters. From Candy Korman Mary Shelley GameMary’s masterpiece, I wandered on to Dracula and the result was ‘Bram Stoker’s Summer Sublet’ a dark comedy set in contemporary New York, ‘POED’ my psychological suspense homage to the great Edgar Allan Poe and ‘The Strange Case of Dr. Hyde and Her Friends’ a romantic suspense romp about a level-headed doctor’s adventures outside her comfort zone. Will there be more in the series? Probably, but not right now as I’m busy with a mystery novel and short stories.

I cherish the experience of being inspired by a classic work of literature and I’m also happy that I was home that rainy Sunday afternoon!

 

Candy KormanFor more about Candy Korman and Candy’s Monsters please visit: www.candysmonsters.com. Explore Candy’s Amazon Author Page. Like Candy’s Monsters on Facebook and discover how much I love tweeting by following @CandyKorman on Twitter.

8 responses to “Mary’s Monster • “It’s Alive!””

  1. Charli Mills Avatar

    Dracula was my Frankenstein and I had discovered Bram Stoker before there was a rush on literary vampires that we know today. My favorite Dracula movie was “Love at First Bite,” combining the character with silly humor and modern romance. That you followed your own inspiration to write a fun modern novel is simply awesome. I enjoyed your post and will look for your book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ula Avatar

      Charli, have you read my vampire post over at Part-Time Monster? You might enjoy it. Here’s the link: http://parttimemonster.com/2015/10/06/vampires-in-slavic-mythology/
      I loved “Love at First Bite” as it was one of those ‘scary’ movies I could actually handle as a kid. It took me two tries to not be scared of “Beetlejuice.” I was a sensitive, easy to scare kid.

      Like

  2. Stephanie Faris Avatar

    That sounds like a book that will be a hit with many people! I’ve never read about Frankenstein in detail–just the references you can’t help but see/hear over the years!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emaginette Avatar

    I’m going to check her out. I’ve been looking for some horror. 🙂

    Anna from Elements of Writing

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Silver Screenings Avatar

    It’s been a long time since I’ve read Frankenstein. You’ve made me want to read it again!

    The Mary Shelley Game sounds like tons o’ fun. I’m off to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sarah Brentyn Avatar

    This is brilliant. Also, this line “Frankenstein, in nearly every incarnation, is my catnip” is just awesome. What a fabulous idea for a series! Will check that out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. herheadache Avatar

    The bit with the blind man is an interesting one. I often wonder what the world would be like if none of us could see each other to judge. I’m sure there would still be our share of problems though. I love that a woman wrote this classic, in a time that was not easy for women.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Aquileana Avatar

    Truly interesting ideas for a book… No wonder why Shelley´s book is still nowadays a classic… Thanks so much for sharing. Sending best wishes. Aquileana 🐉☀️

    Like

Share your thoughts and comments.